Tuesday, April 19, 2016

NEW RELEASE: A Wind From Nowhere by Richard Schnap

This first collection of poems by Pittsburgh poet Richard Schnap paints a portrait of the modern world through insightful observations of people, places, and events told in ways grounded in everyday realities that evoke dreamlike vistas, surreal panoramas, and the heartfelt passage through a life frequently marked by longing and loss. A desolate landscape emerges that blends with soulful studies of characters that pass through it in a time of trials and tribulations that has no easy resolution but still is rich in sudden beauty and signs of wonder and magic.

About the Author:

Richard Schnap is a poet, songwriter and collagist living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. A two-time nominee for the Best of the Net award, his poems have most recently appeared locally, nationally and overseas in a variety of print and online publications. His collages can be seen at richardschnap.com.

47 pages, 37 poems

Monday, April 11, 2016

NEW RELEASE: approximate wilderness by John Sweet

"These are (mostly recent) poems that have grown out of the landscape of rural and small town upstate New York, out of the dying factory cities and the empty fields that connect them.  The poems tend to be free-associative as opposed to linear, with images and thoughts leading one to the next in patterns that may or may not become apparent to the reader.  

The title of the collection is a description of the ambiguity of place, the idea that not all landscapes can be accurately mapped.  

The landscapes themselves (and people described) are tangled up with ordinary fears of modern day living, with the inevitability of war, the need for human contact, the futility of the individual’s fight in the face of a faceless society…in short, the poems are reflections of what I see around me.

They are, I would hope, not defeatist but cathartic.  The anger and sense of hopelessness needs to be purged so that life can go on." John Sweet

About the Author:

John Sweet, b. 1968 in New England, has lived most of his life in upstate New York. He has been writing and publishing since the late 1980s, with the surrounding landscape always a large factor in the work he creates. Previous collections include Human Cathedrals (Ravenna Press, 2007) and The Century of Dreaming Monsters (Lummox Press, 2014).

42 pages, 25 poems

Monday, March 21, 2016

NEW RELEASE: The Li Bo Poems by Steve Klepetar

The preferred transliteration for the great Tang dynasty poet is "Li Bai" (he is also known as "Li Po"). In his latest poetry chapbook, The Li Bo Poems, poet Steve Klepetar has chosen "Li Bo" so as to suggest the identification rather than insist on it. His character can be found in contemporary America, in the underworld, and in a timeless state of mind.  He attends baseball games, pawns his watch, celebrates the fourth of July, travels, talks at a coffee shop, enjoys wine. Sometimes he is accompanied by a friend, an unnamed contemporary American guy.

About the Author:

Steve Klepetar was born in Shanghai, China, the son of Holocaust survivors. He grew up in New York City, and received a Ph.D. in English from the University of Chicago. He taught for thirty-nine years at Mount Senario College in Wisconsin, and The College of Saint Catherine and Saint Cloud State University in Minnesota. Klepetar’s work has appeared worldwide, in such journals as Boston Literary Magazine, Deep Water, Expound, The Muse: India, Red River Review, Snakeskin, Voices Israel, Ygdrasil, and many others.  Several of his poems have been nominated for Best of the Net and the Pushcart Prize (including three in 2015).  He is the author of eight collections, including three other chapbooks from Flutter Press: My Father Teaches Me a Magic Word; My Father Had Another Eye; and My Son Writes a Report on the Warsaw Ghetto.

38 pages, 29 poems

Purchase The Li Bo Poems

Sunday, March 6, 2016

NEW RELEASE: was it more than a kiss by Chella Courington

Chella Courington's poetry chapbook, was it more than a kiss, begins with poems about young love and sexual discovery to poems largely about troubled marriages.

About the Author: 

Chella Courington is a writer and teacher. With a Ph.D. in American and British Literature and an MFA in Poetry, she is the author of three poetry and three flash fiction chapbooks. Her poetry and stories appear in numerous anthologies and journals including SmokeLong Quarterly, Nano Fiction, The Los Angeles Review, and The Collagist. Her recent novella, The Somewhat Sad Tale of the Pitcher and the Crow, is available at Amazon. Reared in the Appalachian South, she now lives in Santa Barbara, CA, with another writer and two cats.

24 pages, 14 poems

Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

NEW RELEASE: Familiar Illusions by A.J. Huffman

About the Author

A.J. Huffman has published twelve solo chapbooks and one joint chapbook through various small presses.  Her new poetry collections, Another Blood Jet (Eldritch Press), A Few Bullets Short of Home (mgv2>publishing), Butchery of the Innocent (Scars Publications), Degeneration (Pink Girl Ink) and A Bizarre Burning of Bees (Transcendent Zero Press) are now available from their respective publishers and amazon.com. She is a four-time Pushcart Prize nominee, a two-time Best of Net nominee, and has published over 2400 poems in various national and international journals, including Labletter, The James Dickey Review, Bone Orchard, EgoPHobia, and Kritya. She is also the founding editor of Kind of a Hurricane Press. www.kindofahurricanepress.com.

20 pages, 14 poems

Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Instead by Gregory Liffick

The theme of the poetry chapbook, Instead, is how things work out in a different way than we expect, or we want them to turn out differently. Life is what happens 'instead.'

About the Author:

Gregory Liffick has been writing poetry for over thirty years. He has published eight chapbooks of poetry and dozens of poems in a variety of print and online journals. He is a teacher and sometime professor in the special education field. 

32 pages, 25 poems

Purchase Instead